logo
welcome
  • Website
  • Catalog
donate
twitter  facebook  pinterest  flickr  instagram

Staff Picks for August / September 2012

Here are some great titles for your reading and viewing pleasure, selected by the staff of Collection Development Services. Highlights include notable new DVDs based on books (or a board game), new instructional DVDs in Spanish, books celebrating geek culture, and possibly the end of the world as we know it.

Find more reading suggestions at Books & More.

book jacket

12.21: A Novel by Dustin Thomason

Fascinated with the impending 2012 apocalypse? 12/21/2012, the date of the apocalypse as predicted by an ancient Mayan Calendar, provides the backdrop for this action-packed, science-based thriller.

Suspense Fiction

book jacket

The Iron Legends: Winter's Passage\Summer's Crossing\Iron's Prophecy by Julie Kagawa

Fans of the Iron Fey series will find these three novellas of the world of Faery and expanded Guide to the Nevernever a must read. Publication date is August 28th.

Teen Fiction

book jacket

The Absolutist by John Boyne

Recommended for fans of Downton Abbey or Ian McEwan's Atonement, this is the story of a World War I veteran who travels to Norwich to deliver a package of letters to the sister of his secret love, Will, with whom he shared the horrors of the trenches.

Historical Fiction

book jacket

Bailout: An Inside Account of How Washington Abandoned Main Street While Rescuing Wall Street by Neil Barofsky

This new bestseller, a compelling, insightful exploration of the author's experiences working with the TARP bailout fund, is now an "always available" downloadable audiobook. No waiting list, no holds. You can start listening to this riveting book right now.

Downloadable Audiobook

book jacket

Dearie: The Remarkable Life of Julia Child by Bob Spitz

A thorough, entertaining account of the truly remarkable life of Julia Child, who was born in Pasadena 100 years ago this month.

Non-Fiction/ebook/Downloadable Audiobook

book jacket

The Elfish Gene: Dungeons, Dragons and Growing Up Strange by Mark Barrowcliffe

Author and comedian Barrowcliffe discovered Dungeons and Dragons at the age of 12 and entered a world of nerdiness so deep that even other nerds find them to be outliers in the geek subculture. His memoir is by turns hilarious and poignant.

Non-Fiction/ebook

book jacket

Geek Girls Unite! How Fangirls, Bookworms, Indie Chicks and Other Misfits are Taking Over the World by Leslie Simon

Organized as a taxonomy of female geeks, including "Literary Geek", "Domestic Goddess Geek", "Music Geek", etc., Simon's book has guidance for aspiring female geeks who want to be as happy as Sylvia Plath (Literary Geek), enjoy the warm, nurturing home life of Martha Stewart (Domestic Goddess Geek), and the record sales of Bjork (Music Geek).

Non-Fiction

book jacket

Who is the Doctor?: The Unofficial Guide to Doctor Who - The New Series by Graeme Burk & Robert Smith

A beloved institution in Great Britain, where it has aired for decades and become the world's longest running TV series, Doctor Who is noted for its shoestring budget, intricate storylines and fiercely devoted fans.

Non-Fiction

book jacket

The Star Trek FAQ: Everything Left to Know About the First Voyages of the Starship Enterprise by Mark Clark

Trekkers refer to the first iteration of Star Trek as "TOS", The Original Show, and for some of us "TOS" is the only show. Clark's substantial guide will answer any remaining questions one might have regarding Leonard Nimoy's alcoholism, Gene Roddenberry's womanizing, cheesy merchandise and those poor crew (excepting Commander Scott and Lt. Uhura) given the dreaded red shirt and fated to be consumed by a sparkly cloud or an alien resembling a man in a gorilla suit dyed white.

Non-Fiction

book jacket

Batmobile: The Complete History - Engineering, Aesthetics, and Function Through the Decades by Mark Cotta Vaz

One notable characteristic of nerds and geeks is an interest in developing expertise, of having a narrow but very deep understanding of some aspect of the larger culture. Batman's iconic Batmobile gets the full nerd workout here, tracing its history from its first appearance in the comic books to the "Tumbler" of today.

Non-Fiction

book jacket

Battleship

Aliens splash down outside Hawaii, surrounding the islands with an impenetrable force field and wreaking havoc on the captive population. While the world outside watches helplessly, a skeleton crew of naval officers and civilians must figure out a way to save the planet while being seriously outgunned. Based on the board game by Milton Bradley.

DVD

book jacket

The Hunger Games

Set in a future where the Capitol selects a boy and girl from the outlying twelve districts to fight to the death on live television, Katniss Everdeen volunteers to take her sister's place in the contest. Based on the book The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

DVD

book jacket

John Carter

John Carter, a former military captain who is transported to Mars, discovers that the survival of Barsoom and its people rests in his hands and reluctantly becomes embroiled in an epic conflict. Based on the book A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs.

DVD

 

Mecánica automotriz

Instructional DVD set in Spanish on how to repair your automobile, including engine, electrical, fuel injection, transmission, brakes, and servicing.

Spanish DVD

 

Curso de peluquería y estética capilar

Spanish instructional DVD set on hair salon techniques, including how to style, color, and cut hair.

Spanish DVD