logo
welcome
  • Website
  • Catalog
donate
twitter  facebook  pinterest  flickr  instagram

If you liked The Fault in Our Stars...

If you liked The Fault in Our Stars (or are still on the waiting list) and are looking for something to read next, here are some teen, kids, and adult titles you might also enjoy.

Find more reading suggestions at Books & More.

book jacket

This Star Won't Go Out: The Life & Words of Esther Grace Earl by Esther Earl

In full color and illustrated with art and photographs, this is a collection of the journals, fiction, letters, and sketches of the late Esther Grace Earl, who passed away in 2010 at the age of 16. Essays by family and friends help to tell Esther's story along with an introduction by The Fault in Our Stars author John Green who dedicated that novel to her. Also available in: eBook.

Teen Nonfiction, 2014

book jacket

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl: A Novel by Jesse Andrews

Seventeen-year-old Greg has managed to become part of every social group at his Pittsburgh high school without having any friends, but his life changes when his mother forces him to befriend Rachel, a girl he once knew in Hebrew school who has leukemia. A hilarious, outrageous, and truthful look at death and high school.

Teen Fiction, 2012

book jacket

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

After she dies in a car crash, teenager Samantha relives the day of her death over and over again trying to find a way to get it right and save herself. Like The Fault in Our Stars, this novel combines great characters, humor, and tragedy to devastating effect. Also available in: eBook and downloadable audiobook.

Teen Fiction, 2010

book jacket

If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson

After meeting at their private school in New York, fifteen-year-old Jeremiah, who is black and whose parents are separated, and Ellie, who is white and whose mother has twice abandoned her, fall in love and then try to cope with people's reactions. This book was so affecting that I couldn't read another book for days after I finished it.

Teen Fiction, 1998

book jacket

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Conor O’Malley’s mother is suffering from cancer, and despite her cheery reassurances, the latest round of chemo isn’t going well. Then the nightmares start. Every night, until one night, Conor is visited by a monster. And it wants something terrible and dangerous from Conor. It wants the truth. Also available in: eBook.

Teen Fiction, 2011

book jacket

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King

Vera has spent her whole life secretly in love with her best friend, Charlie. And over the years she’s kept a lot of his secrets. Even after he betrayed her and ruined everything. When Charlie dies under dark and mysterious circumstances, Vera is the only one who can clear Charlie's suspected guilt in a crime. Also available in: eBook.

Teen Fiction, 2010

book jacket

Drums, Girls, & Dangerous Pie by Jordan Sonnenblick

When his younger brother is diagnosed with leukemia, thirteen-year-old Steven tries to deal with his complicated emotions, his school life, and his desire to support his family. This book will make you laugh and break your heart at the same time.

Teen Fiction, 2004

book jacket

Before I Die by Jenny Downham

A terminally ill teenage girl makes and carries out a list of things to do before she dies. Passionate, intense, and uncompromising. Also available in: eBook.

Teen Fiction, 2007

book jacket

The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder

Having spent years in and out of hospitals for a life-threatening illness, sixteen-year-old Cam and her miracle-seeking mother move to Promise, Maine, known for its mystical healing qualities. Cam is a die-hard non believer but the longer she spends in Promise, the more she learns to believe in many things she never used to – including herself.

Teen Fiction, 2011

book jacket

Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Ten-year-old Auggie Pullman, who was born with extreme facial abnormalities and was not expected to survive, goes from being home-schooled to entering fifth grade at a private middle school in Manhattan, which entails enduring the taunting and fear of his classmates as he struggles to be seen as just another student. Also available in: eBook.

Children's Fiction, 2012

book jacket

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

In this story about the perils of popularity, the courage of nonconformity, and the thrill of first love, an eccentric student named Stargirl changes Mica High School forever. Also available in: eBook.

Children's Fiction, 2000

book jacket

A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

This tale of first love set in the 1950s introduces seventeen-year-old Landon, who has never paid much attention to plain Jamie Sullivan, a Baptist minister's daughter, until fate intervenes and Landon learns the depths of the human heart and the joy and pain of living. Also available in: eBook.

Adult Fiction, 1999

book jacket

Love Story by Erich Segal

The love between a rich Harvard man and a poor Radcliffe girl ends in tragedy in this classic weepy romantic novel that was made into a classic weepy romantic film.

Adult Fiction, 1970

book jacket

The Mercy Papers: A Memoir of Three Weeks by Robin Romm

In this raw, unsentimental memoir that reverberates with humanity, the author recounts the three weeks before her mother's death experiencing such challenges as unruly pets, a questionable hospice nurse, her mother's numerous medications, and faith struggles.

Adult Nonfiction, 2009

book jacket

The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer by Siddhartha Mukherjee

This Pulitzer Prize winner is a magnificent, profoundly humane "biography" of cancer-from its first documented appearances thousands of years ago through the epic battles in the twentieth century to cure, control, and conquer it to a radical new understanding of its essence. It reads like a literary thriller with cancer as the protagonist. (And its title is reminiscent of Hazel's fictional favorite book, An Imperial Affliction.) Also available in: streaming audiobook.

Adult Nonfiction, 2010