logo
welcome
  • Website
  • Catalog
       

July/Aug 2014 Collection Spotlight

Here are some great titles for your reading & listening pleasure, selected by the staff of Collection Development Services. Highlights include new fiction titles ranging from fantasy to mystery to historical fiction; a new translation of an epic poem; adventure-filled graphic novels; a Paleo cookbook and a book to help you deal with information overload; language-learning tools; and Spanish-language biographies.

Find more reading suggestions at Books & More.

book jacket

Guy in Real Life by Steven Brezenoff

Colliding on their bikes in the middle of the night, Lesh and Svetlana forge a bond despite their divergent interests while exploring the identities they assume in school, at home, and while participating in role-playing games. A moving love story in the vein of Rainbow Rowell and John Green. Also available in: eBook.

Teen Fiction

book jacket

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Coming out of exile to ascend her rightful throne, Princess Kelsea Raleigh Glynn, with a cadre of soldiers and the magical Tearling sapphire to protect her, makes a daring decision that evokes the wrath of the evil Red Witch, forcing her to embark on a quest to save her kingdom and fulfill her destiny. Harry Potter movie producer David Heyman has the flim rights to the projected trilogy, and filming may start next year with Emma Watson not only starring but also executive producing. Also available in: eBook.

Fiction

book jacket

Dollbaby: A Novel by Laura Lane McNeal

After her father's unexpected death in 1964, Ibby Bell finds herself living at a New Orleans Garden District estate with her eccentric grandmother and her house staff including a sassy black cook named Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter Dollbaby. For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time. Great for book clubs. Also available in: eBook.

Fiction

book jacket

Hounded: An Andy Carpenter Mystery by David Rosenfelt

Asked to care for the orphaned 4-year-old son and Bassett hound of a murdered ex-convict, defense attorney Andy Carpenter finds his circumstances further complicated when his friend, police officer Pete Stanton, is wrongly accused of the crime. Told with Rosenfelt's characteristic humor and wit, this heartfelt story is about family and canines, and is a page-turning legal thriller too.

Fiction

book jacket

Beowulf by J. R. R. Tolkien

A terrific prose translation of the famous adventure, translated from Old English by Tolkien in 1926 and set aside while he taught at Oxford, raised a family and wrote The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. Over the remaining years of his life, Tolkien would return to it and tinker with the wording and add commentaries and textual notes drawn from a lifetime of thought, research and teaching. Now, forty years after his death, this work finally appears in print.

Classic

book jacket

The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang

Acclaimed author Gene Luen Yang ("American Born Chinese") and artist Sonny Liew have created an all-new origin story for the Green Turtle, an obscure comic book character from the 1940s who was arguably the first Asian-American superhero. The original crime-fighting character was always mysteriously masked and rumors suggested his secret identity was his Chinese ethnicity. This gorgeous, funny comics adventure for teens is a new spin on the long, rich tradition of American comics lore.

Graphic Novel

book jacket

Vinland Saga by Makoto Yukimura

A band of Viking warriors invades medieval England in this epic story of vengeance, blood, tragedy, royal intrigue, and more blood. For those desperately missing "Game of Thrones," this thrilling manga series will be just the thing.

Graphic Novel

book jacket

The Paleo Kitchen: Finding Primal Joy in Modern Cooking by Juli Bauer & George Bryant

Bauer and Bryant, Paleo diet titans, have teamed up for this cookbook with over 100 recipes that would be unrecognizable to our caveman forebears - Lime Pound Cake with Coconut Lime Frosting or Asian Marinated Asparagus, for instance – yet still adhere to the principles of the Paleo diet, as these recipes are both gluten and grain free.

Nonfiction

book jacket

The Organized Mind: Thinking Straight in the Age of Information Overload by Daniel J. Levitin

Feeling overwhelmed by the deluge of information? A professor of psychology and behavioral neuroscience, Levitin explores how our minds developed to meet the challenges of Stone Age life and how some of these adaptations clash with the new demands placed on our attention by modern life. Levitin explains in this book the latest science on brain function and how this can be used to help people manage distractions, make better decisions, and achieve a state where we think most creatively.

Nonfiction

book jacket

Behind the Wheel Arabic

Behind the Wheel by Macmillan Audio provides a stable and universal foundation in comprehending, speaking, and using creative expression for the novice Arabic language learner. Additonal languages availalble.

Audiobook on CD

book jacket

Drive Time Japanese

Learn the exciting Japanese language while driving with 18 lessons from Living Language that improve vocabulary, grammar, and other basic speaking skills. Additonal languages availalble.

Audiobook on CD

book jacket

In-Flight German

Designed for both casual tourists and seasoned business travelers, the In-Flight series from Living Language teaches vocabulary and grammar that relate to essentials such as handling directions, dining out, checking into a hotel, and social pleasantries.

Audiobook on CD

book jacket

Messi by Guillem Balagué

Escrita por un periodista de fútbol muy conocido, esta biografía relata la carrera futbolística de Messi desde sus humildes comienzos en el fútbol hasta el internacional súper estrellato. Written by a well-known soccer journalist, this biography recounts Messi’s soccer career from humble beginnings to international soccer super stardom.

Spanish Language Nonfiction

book jacket

Kate: la biografía: la historia de una princesa by Marcia Moody

Se trata de una biografía en profundidad sobre Kate Middleton. Cubre su vida anterior, su familia y su relación con el príncipe William. This is an in-depth biography on Kate Middleton. It covers her early life, her family and her relationship with Prince William.

Spanish Language Nonfiction